SPC Cells

Institution’s Innovation Council

Ministry of Education (MoE), Govt. of India has established ‘MoE’s Innovation Cell (MIC)’ to systematically foster the culture of Innovation amongst all Higher Education Institutions (HEIs). The primary mandate of MIC is to encourage, inspire and nurture young students by supporting them to work with new ideas and transform them into prototypes while they are informative years.

MIC has envisioned encouraging creation of ‘Institution’s Innovation Council (IICs)’ across selected HEIs. A network of these IICs will be established to promote innovation in the Institution through multitudinous modes leading to an innovation promotion eco-system in the campuses.

Major focus of IIC

To create a vibrant local innovation ecosystem. Start-up supporting Mechanism in HEIs. Prepare institute for Atal Ranking of Institutions on Innovation Achievements Framework. Establish Function Ecosystem for Scouting Ideas and Pre-incubation of Ideas. Develop better Cognitive Ability for Technology Students.

Objectives of Institution’s Innovation Council

  • To conduct various innovation and entrepreneurship-related activities prescribed by Central MIC in time bound fashion.
  • Identify and reward innovations and share success stories.
  • Organize periodic workshops/ seminars/ interactions with entrepreneurs, investors, professionals and create a mentor pool for student innovators.
  • Network with peers and national entrepreneurship development organizations.
  • Create an Institution’s Innovation portal to highlight innovative projects carried out by institution’s faculty and students.
  • Organize Hackathons, idea competition, mini-challenges etc. with the involvement of industries.

Administrative Set-up

The IIC Council of the College consists of the following members:
Head of the Institution: Dr. Shaju Varghese
President- Dr. Renu Susan Samuel
Convenor – Dr. Sona S. Dev
External Expert: Dr. Viju Jacob, MD, Synthite Industries
Alumni Entrepreneurs: 1) Sri. Joji Varghese
2) Sri. Alias K Peter

Department Name of the Faculty Roles Assigned
English Smt. Nayomi Rajan Vice President
Chemistry Smt. Asha Paul
Pol. Sc. Smt. Jocelyn Jose IPR Activity Coordinator
History Smt. Elsa Sunny M
Physics Ms. Soumya Kuriakose Start-up Activity Coordinator
Zoology Dr. Susha T K
Botany Smt. Remya G Nair
Maths Dr. Jaya Paul Internship Activity Coordinator
Hindi Dr. Sindhu P Kauma
Mal Smt. Bincy Dominic
Commerce Smt. Binu Mathew Innovation Activity
Library Sc. Ms. Asha D. Varghese Social Media
Commerce SF Dr. Bincy Baby NISP coordinator
MTA SF Smt. Shilpa Paul
Chemistry SF Smt. Reshma Prakash

Institution’s Innovation Council Activities

  • June 30, 2021

  • June 17, 2021

  • June 5, 2021

  • June 1, 2021

  • May 26, 2021

  • May 21, 2021