Department of Political Science

The Department of Political Science offers three years’ of undergraduate courses. It was established in 1967. The department has a three-member faculty whose specialization spreads across different fields of Political Science. The vital priority of the department is to get students up to date with the conceptual and applied crux of the discipline. The course offers a set of skills that are excellent preparation for Public Policymaking, Policy Analysis, International Relations, Diplomacy, Public Administration, and research. The department prepares students for a wide range of careers, who join, non-government organizations, public and private sectors. A good number of students opt for higher studies in prestigious institutions. The discipline of Political Science requires students to understand politics in all its nuances, to probe power relationships that exist in public and personal spaces. Members of the faculty use innovative teaching methods to make learning experiential. Series of public lectures and seminars designed around the course and current affairs are also used by teachers to provide extensive knowledge to the students. Field visits and study trips to aid in the teaching-learning process. Extension activities of the department are focused on areas such as spreading awareness of Intellectual Property Rights (IPR), Indian Constitution, environmental protection, and gender sensitization among college, school students, and the general public.
The Department Offers :

BA Political Science

  • Political Science (Honours)
  • Political Science Honours with (Research)

Political science on social media: